Who wrote the song life by the drop?

The song Life by the Drop was made famous by Stevie Ray Vaughan but it has been reported that the song was written by Doyle Bramhall. Vaughn and Bramhall were friends in high school and played in bands together in Texas. The song is reported to be about Bramhall's friendship wiht Vaughn.