What is sports washing?

Sportswashing is a term used to describe the practice of individuals, groups, corporations, or governments using sports to improve reputations tarnished by wrongdoing. It can be accomplished through hosting sporting events, purchasing or sponsoring sporting teams, or participating in a sport.