What is bitter ballin?

Bitterballen, a dutch snack, are deep-fried and crispy breaded rounds with a tender, savory filling. It is made traditionally with beef, but they can also be prepared with chicken, veal or even with mushrooms, for those that prefer a vegetarian option.