Why are the cleveland browns called the browns?

They were called the Brown Bombers, after the nickname of the revered boxer of that era, Joe Louis. The name later was shortened to the Browns.”

---

They were named for their first coach, owner and founder, Paul Brown. Not for their greatest player, Jim Brown.