Why do cats rub on things?

They're Leaving Scent Marks - like saying this is MINE or I like this! Cats have multiple scent glands on their heads, located around their mouths, chins, sides of the face, neck and ears. The act of a cat rubbing his head on objects is called “bunting.

---

When a cat rubs against objects the pheromones they activate leave behind a personalized scent. This scent lets other felines know your cat was there. Additionally, this type of contact calms your cat: by recognizing their own scent, cats experience the feeling of belonging and home.