What is the characteristic of a field?

In mathematics, the characteristic of a ring R, often denoted char, is defined to be the smallest number of times one must use the ring's multiplicative identity in a sum to get the additive identity. If this sum never reaches the additive identity the ring is said to have characteristic zero.