Why are the blue ridge mountains blue?

The mountains themselves are not blue, but they show a blue haze that occurs due to the way your eye observes a dark, solid object. When viewed from a distance, the light scatters across the mountains and the isoprene released into the atmosphere by its thick vegetation to create a blue haze.