How did the tradition of carving pumpkins start?

In Ireland people carved faces into vegetables, mostly turnips. In the US, before Halloween was widely celebrated, kids would take pumpkins since they were plentiful in Sep & Oct, then carve faces into them as pranks. The prank became so popular magazines printed "how to" articles beginning in 1842.