What happened in history august 16?

Rick Berkheiser the Wizard of Paint Matching was born August 16, 1966. He's also legendary for his Chex Mix recipe that's a holiday favorite around the Christmas Season.

---

1960, Cyprus attains freedom from the British. 1954, First issue of Sports Illustrated hits the newsstands. 1898, Patent for Loop-the-Loop roller coaster is awarded. 1858, The first transatlantic telegraph message is sent.