What was the first card game?

The first possible reference to a card game, called Leaves, comes from a 9th-century Chinese text. The earliest dated instance of a game involving cards occurred in July, 1294 when two men were caught playing with cards, called zhi pai, and that the wood blocks for printing them had been impounded.