What are the levels of sonic the hedgehog?

That depends on which version of the game you are playing. In Sonic the original from 1991 there are 7 levels. Green Hill Zone Labyrinth Zone Marble Zone Scrap Brain Zone Sky Base Zone Star Light Zone Special Zone