How long are canned tomatoes good for?

According to the USDA, canned tomatoes are best used within 18 months due to their high acidity. If stored properly they can keep indefinitely, but will lose taste, texture and nutrients. It's not safe to eat from cans that show rust, severe dents, bulging, are leaking, or sputter upon opening.