Is salt water acidic?

Depends on the salt. For common sodium chloride, the pH of its solution in pure water will be approximately 7. Solution of salts of strong bases, such as sodium hydroxide, and weak acids, such as acetic acid, will be basic. Our oceans are basic or alkaline with a pH of 7.5 to 8.4. .