Why do cats rub on you?

When a cat rubs or pushes its head against you, also known as head butting or bunting, the cat is also marking you with his scent in a show of affiliation. Head rubbing is a cat's way of marking its people and its environment and grouping them together with the same scent.

---

Cats have scent glands in their foreheads and cheeks, so rubbing their face against objects like shoes or blankets, even you, is a type of marking territory. Your scent is comforting, it sounds strange but some cats really are calmed and relaxed by smell of our sweat and react to it very positively.