How does a nuclear warhead work?

Nuclear bombs use fission (energy created from the strong nuclear force by breaking up large elements- usually uranium or plutonium in bombs). The first atomic bombs a piece of uranium was shot into another piece to make a critical mass (enough material to sustain chain reaction.