How does the coriolis effect work?

In physics, the Coriolis force is an inertial force that acts on objects that are in motion within a frame of reference that rotates with respect to an inertial frame. An example is the earth by rotating exerts a sideways force on water as it drains out of a sink, producing a clockwise swirl.