What are ductless glands?

Ductless glands, formally known as endocrine glands, are specialized tissues that secrete hormones directly into the bloodstream (rather than channeling them through ducts). Hormones act as messengers to regulate various body functions. Examples include the thyroid, adrenal, & pituitary glands.