Are dogs and cats colorblind?

In dogs, the range of visible colors is restricted to those in the yellow portion of the spectrum. For cats, there’s a debate as to whether blues and grays are the norm, or whether it’s the same yellow-based spectrum dogs see, just with less saturation and richness of color.