When were colored contacts invented?

F.E. Muller, a German glassblower, developed an eye covering that could be worn in 1887. However, the first contact lenses were large and uncomfortable. In 1949, the first "corneal" contact lenses were made, which could be worn 16 hours at a time. Durasoft launched opaque tinted lenses in the 1980s.