What does uncured bacon mean?

While uncured bacon is still cured bacon, it undergoes a much different process. A process that is better for you and much more flavorful! Simply put, uncured bacon is bacon that has not been cured with synthetically-sourced nitrates and nitrites.

---

Uncured bacon is bacon that hasn't been cured with sodium nitrites. Uncured bacon has to be labeled “Uncured bacon. No nitrates or nitrites added.” However, that doesn't mean it doesn't have nitrites from naturally occurring sources.