How many countries have a monarch?

As of 2022, there are 43 sovereign states in the world with a monarch as head of state. They have differing levels of authority. The only absolute monarchies are Brunei, Eswatini, Oman, Saudi Arabia, Vatican City, and the individual emirates among the United Arab Emirates.