What is the etymology of the word hobo?

The origin of the term is unknown. The word was first noticed in American English around 1890, possibly as a contraction for the term "homeless boy".

---

The exact origin of the word hobo is unknown but at dates to at least the late 19th century. However two major theories include the hawbuck and the call "ho Boy". Hawbuck has a similar meaning and ho boy was a common call on railroads.