Who is the ford mustang named after?

Quickly nicknamed the “Pony,” the Mustang name has a surprisingly complicated history. According to designer John Najjar, he suggested the name Mustang after the World War II P-51 Mustang fighter plane.

---

The Mustang was named after a World War II fighter plane, with the horse also playing a role in the final selection.