Is the polar bear the biggest bear?

It is a close call, but the polar bear is generally considered the largest bear on Earth. ... The Kodiak is a subspecies of the brown bear native to Alaska. Playful wrestling between two Kodiak brown bears (Ursus arctos middendorff), Kodiak National Wildlife Refuge.