What planting zone is las vegas nevada?

The US Department of Agriculture (USDA) puts Las Vegas in growing zone 9a. The USDA bases its growing zones on the extreme minimum temperature of a region. Meanwhile, the Sunset climate zones system gives Las Vegas a growing zone of 11.