What's the difference between dog and cat food?

In general, dog food may have a combination of animal proteins, grains, and vegetables. Cats, on the other hand, are far more limited on what they need to eat to survive. Cats are obligate carnivores and must get their nutrients from meat, not plant material.

---

Pet food for cats and dogs may be made of different ingredients to better address the dietary requirements of each animal. A pet's age and breed may also be taken into account.