What is the janeway protocol?

There is some confusion about the Janeway Protocol. One widely accepted description says it means "go for it" or "full speed ahead." When Captain Janeway's ship was trapped, and the exit was too small to accommodate it, she said I've learned that, sometimes, you just have to punch your way through.