When was the u. s. n. s. comfort built?

U S N S Comfort was first built as an oil tanker in 1976. It was converted to a hospital ship in 1987.

---

The USNS Comfort was laid down on May 1, 1975. The ship was launched on February 1, 1976 and was put in service with the US Navy on December 1, 1987.