What was the name of the family in downton abbey?

The name of the family in Downtown Abbey was Crawley. The Crawleys were a wealthy aristocratic family who held rights to the Downton Abbey estate, which they have held since at least 1772, when the 1st Earl of Grantham was raised to the earldom.