How long does it take sunlight to reach earth?

The light from the sun takes an average of eight minutes and twenty seconds to reach earth.

---

The International Astronomical Union has redefined the AU, the distance between the Earth and the sun. The new definition is now a fixed number of 149,597,870,700 meters. At lightspeed that's precisely 8 minutes 19.005 seconds for light to reach Earth.