Why do wrestlers get cauliflower ear?

Cauliflower ear refers to a deformity of the ear caused by blunt trauma or injury, such as what may occur during a boxing or wrestling match. The injury leads to a blockage that prevents blood flow and damages tissue. This results in a bumpy or lumpy appearance on part of the ear.