Who is the greatest general in the civil war?

Robert E. Lee, of the Confederacy, and Ulysses S. Grant, of the Union, were both regarded as great generals. It can be argued that Ulysses S. Grant was the greatest due to his ultimate victory and ascension to the US presidency.