Where did the pizza originate?

The modern birthplace of pizza is southwestern Italy's Campania region, Specifically, baker Raffaele Esposito from Naples is often given credit for making the first such pizza pie. Historians note, however, that street vendors in Naples sold flatbreads with toppings for many years before then.