Is lassie a border collie?

The dog who played Lassie in the movies was a male Rough Collie named Pal and later his progeny. Most people do not know that the character of Lassie was inspired by, not a Rough Collie, but an old fashioned type of Collie owned by the author of "Lassie Come-Home", Mr. Eric Knight named Toots.

---

The dog who played Lassie in the movies was a male Rough Collie