Do carrots help you see better?

Yes and no. Carrots contain vitamin A, or retinol, and this is required for your body to synthesise rhodopsin, which is the pigment in your eyes that operates in low-light conditions. If you have a vitamin A deficiency, you will develop nyctalopia or night blindness.

---

No, this is a medical myth that was started by the British Airforce during World War two, to hide the development of radar from the Germans. It was an intentionally leaked fallacy that claimed carrots improved night vision, but they are a good source of Vitamin A which helps maintain eyesight.