Why is ramen called ramen?

As its broth was chicken-flavored, the product was called Chikin Ramen. The Japanese word ramen is derived from the Chinese words for “pull” (la) and “noodle” (mian) because Chinese noodles are traditionally “pulled” by hand, according to Crazy for Kanji author Eve Kushner.