Why is washington d. c. called the district of columbia?

Library of Congress, Washington, D.C. The new federal territory was named District of Columbia to honour explorer Christopher Columbus, and the new federal city was named for George Washington.

---

Library of Congress, Washington, D.C. The new federal territory was named District of Columbia to honour explorer Christopher Columbus, and the new federal city was named for George Washington.