Is a water chestnut a root?

Not exactly. Eleocharis dulcis, the Chinese water chestnut or water chestnut, is a grass-like sedge native to Asia, Australia, tropical Africa, and various islands of the Pacific and Indian Oceans. It is grown in many countries for its edible corms, or underground stems.