How to dust bookshelves?

Use a microfiber cloth or a clean paint or makeup brush to dust the tops and sides of the books and then the shelves. If you have more time, remove the books and use the upholstery attachment of the vacuum to dust them. Large, heavy books should be placed flat, not upright.