What does bye-bye butterfly mean?

"Bye bye butterfly" is just a silly rhyme used to say goodbye, usually to or with children. The other person would respond with, "Give a hug, ladybug!". The goodbye and the response tend to use related or similar animals, and the animal name always rhymes with the first part.