How did the french and indian war get its name?

Also called the 7 Years War, it was part of a larger war being waged in Europe between Britain & France. Since the French and Indians were fighting against the British in North America, it became known as the French & Indian War. Various regional tribes fought alongside French & British troops.

---

The French & Indian War was a war between the British & French settlements in North America. Groups of Native Americans, called Indians at that time, fought for both the French & British. The involvement of both French and Native American "Indians" lead to it being called The French & Indian War.