Was rick dalton a real actor?

Rick Dalton is an actor who starred in the television Western series Bounty Law, based on Wanted Dead or Alive, which starred Steve McQueen. Dalton's relationship with Cliff Booth is based on Burt Reynolds' and his longtime stunt double Hal Needham.