Why did the soviet union attack finland in nineteen thirty nine?

According to The encyclopedia Britannica, The Soviet proposals for land acquisitions included an offer to exchange Soviet land. When Finland refused, the Soviet Union launched an attack on November 30, 1939, beginning the Russo-Finnish War.