What is a bait caster?

A baitcaster reel sits on top of the rod so the spool is parallel to the rod. It works well with monofilament, fluorocarbon and braid line types. Although it's a more advanced type of reel, being able to use multiple types of lures, bait and lines make a huge difference in fishability.