How do you cook xanthan gum?

Xanthan gum is common in salad dressings and sauces. It helps to prevent oil separation by stabilizing the emulsion, although it is not an emulsifier. Add a small amount while blending. Xanthan gum also helps suspend solid particles, such as spices.