How many volcanoes are in australia?

400 volcanoes The Newer Volcanic Province has about 400 volcanoes stretching from Melbourne to Mount Gambier, and it is the main volcanic region in Australia considered to be still active. Australia's most recently active volcanoes erupted about 5,000 years ago.