What poison is in apple seeds?

The poison in apple seeds in called cyanide. A person weighing 155 pounds would have to ingest the seeds of approximately 18 apples for a lethal dose.

---

Apple seeds contain amygdalin, a cyanide and sugar compound that degrades into hydrogen cyanide when metabolized. However, because the number of apple seeds it takes to be harmful is so large that it is extremely unlikely that eating apples could cause harm.