How many watts is a five thousand b. t. u. air conditioner?

5,000 BTU's per hour is equal to 1,466.28 watts.

---

On average, a 5000 BTU air conditioner uses 450 to 500 Watts of power when it’s running. At 115 Volts, these units draw around 4 amps of current (around 40 amps at 12 Volts). However, some units that have a high EER (or CEER) rating of 12 or more, will use around 400 Watts of power.