Are water snakes venomous?

No, water snakes are not venomous. In the US these snakes are in the genus Nerodia, and include the Northern Water Snake and the Banded Water Snake, some of the most common snakes in the US. There is one snake found near water called the Cottonmouth or Water Moccasin, which is venomous.

---

Two are: Moccasin(cottonmouth) and Copperhead (which spend time in water) can be lethal. Now not all black water snakes are venomous Cottonmouths is important to remember