Who invented the game of marbles?

In 1884, a factory owned by Sam Dyke of Akron, Ohio, invented a wooden block with six grooves, and started to create a million clay marbles per day. The first glass marbles were made in 1903, when Martin Frederick Christensen, also from Akron, Ohio, invented the first machine for glass marbles.